customterew.blogg.se

Dr fone review
Dr fone review












dr fone review

I was never bored, and there wasn't anything I wanted taken out of the movie, but I almost felt it would be better as a TV show or miniseries due to some rushed execution. But sometimes the stretching to fit is felt. Danny is following in his father's steps in dark ways, and the overall story of these psychic vampires seems to acknowledge a lot of King's history with psychics. It's not a rehash sequel, it's an extension of ideas and themes from the original. When it goes Kubrick with direct homages and callbacks, it feels right enough and they honestly are some of the most enjoyable bits. You can feel it a bit, but it still overall works. Having never read Doctor Sleep, I can't say how true it stays to the book, but even then there are definitely moments where I could feel it stretching to try to pull in something from Kubrick that probably wasn't book accurate. Pulling from elements of the books and the Kubrick adaptation, this is something of a complicated beast trying to reconcile the bunch. It's a shame this failed at the box office, but I suspect it had to do with the negative hype surrounding IT Chapter 2. This has the tone of The Shining and the quality, but since I watched The Shining first, it's hard to say this is on the same level. I will re-watch the film in a few years and re-access my initial review.

dr fone review

I haven't rewarded it with the 5 star rating as The Shining wasn't an initial 5 star rating for me. The version I watched was the DC 1080 cut and I will say it's an incredible film. The filmmaker stays respectful to both King and Kubrick which wouldn't have been an easy feat considering King's dislike for Kubrick's film. Most sequels would revisit The Overlook with a new family, but not Stephen King. The book was good as it pushed past the closed doors of the original and managed to stay relevant.

dr fone review

I honestly feel this film will grow into a cult gem like its predecessor. The film is close to the books story-line but is also respectful of the Kubrick masterpiece The Shining. Doctor Sleep is one of those rare sequels that work.














Dr fone review